Frequently Asked Questions

Do you teach teenagers?

How much is it?

What are the drive locations?

How long will it take?

When and Where are classes held?  AAA Info

What car will my student drive?

I don't understand the Idaho Online Driver Education Class?

Can we finish the online course and then sign up for training?

What if I have to reschedule or I miss a drive?

What is the refund policy?

How many total drives and how long are each drive?

How do we get observation time if my student drives solo?

How long are the drives?

What are the days and times my student can drive?

What is the Enhanced Course?

17 And Over Students and Adults...

Can I pay in advance to reserve a spot?

What is the process after the 6 months supervised driving is complete?

How do we get started?

Why should I take drivers education?  Why not wait till I'm 17 and just take the test?

Do you teach teenagers?

  Yes.  This is the fastest, safest, best way for your student to earn their driving permit.  It usually takes 10 to 14 days for students to get their permit.  

 

What are the prices?

Please see "Driving Courses and Prices".

​​What are the drive locations and time lengths?

Please see "Signup and Scheduling Info".

 

How long will it take?

 

*2 to 3 weeks once the drives begin.  Idaho law requires you complete 6 hours of driving and 6 hours of in-car observation to complete the "driving" portion of the course.  The observation requirement will be met in the driver training vehicle or in a parents vehicle.  

*The entire process depends on how soon you go to the DMV, how long it takes to finish the online course, when we have a parent meeting, and the student's schedule (free time).  If you go to the DMV and finish the online course with-in 7-10 days, the entire process could take as little as a 3 weeks.    

When and where are classes held?  What about AAA Online Course?

Classes are online through Idaho Online Driver Education (IODE), Driversed.com or AAA Online Driver Education (more information below).  For parents who wish for additional education in a classroom please click on the Alive at 25 link on the home page.  Alive at 25 is a 4.5 hr class taught by police officers and gives student a different perspective on safe driving.  The class is free but has very limited availability.

What car will my student drive?

Our car has a passenger brake and is fully certified satisfying all state requirements including insurance.  We have 2 Toyota Camrys constantly serviced by a top mechanic.  They are very safe and easy to drive.  

I don't understand the online class requirement?

     With all teen courses IODE is included in the price.  Driversed.com and AAA Online are not.  With IODE the class will take a minimum of 25 hours. You can also take Driversed.com for $99.  With Driversed.com the entire course could take 15 to 25 hours but is not as comprehensive as IODE.  We also accept AAA (Triple A) Online Driver education.  It's $50 and takes a minimum of 30 hours (we do not recommend).  You must be 15 to drive with UltraSafe, but you can start an online course at 14 1/2. 

Click here for IODE vs. Driversed.com.

Can we finish the online course and then sign up for training?

Yes.  The online course is not connected in any way to the driving portion.  It is best for the online to be completed, or almost completed as close as possible to the drives but it is not required.  Students who choose Driversed.com, and especially if they finish long before the first drive, often drive worse than students who take IODE closer to the driving portion.

What if I have to reschedule or I miss a drive?

  Please note that the reschedule policy does change from time to time.  Please message/text us for latest info.  Also keep in mind that we are very flexible.  In 4 years and over 200 students we have only charged one parent the rescheduling fee.

What is the drive or course reschedule/refund policy?

Yes.  It is possible to get a refund.  This is from our current policy form as of Sept. 27th 2019.

Refunds...

You must cancel at least 7 days of the first scheduled drive to receive a full refund minus $50.  This does not include the day of the first drive.  If you paid in advance or at the parent meeting and you cancel within 6 days or less of your first scheduled drive, you will not receive a full refund.

Cancelled Drives and Rescheduling

  Cancellation of Drive by Parent…The term “drive” means the total scheduled time and includes the driving and observation time.  Only a parent or guardian can cancel drives by phone, email, text, or note w/ signature.  You must reschedule 48 hours prior to your drive in order to avoid a late reschedule fee. The missed drives/rescheduling fee is $40 and will be paid at the beginning of the next drive.  If you reschedule for an earlier time you will NOT pay the additional $40 Late Reschedule Fee. Please note rescheduling a drive may require subsequent drives also to be rescheduled - each with a $40 reschedule fee (it is best NOT to reschedule early drives).  Rescheduled drives will not have any priority over the scheduling of other or new students. Changing the drive during the drive is considered a cancellation and could result in the total cancellation of the whole course with a refund given.  See refund policy below. Please keep in mind there cannot be more than 5 full days between drives. If rescheduling causes 6-8 days between drives and the instructor approves of a rescheduled drive, the student will be required to do an extra 1 hour drive.  If rescheduling causes 9 or more days between drives and the instructor approves of a rescheduled drive, the student will be required to do a second extra 1 hour drive. If there is no time available for an extra drive or the instructor does not approve of a rescheduled drive, the remaining drives could be cancelled and a refund given as per the policy above. Each extra drive, whether for rescheduling or required extra practice, is $40/hr paid with cash or check at the beginning of the drive.  More than 1 rescheduled drive might result in the entire course being cancelled.

How many total drives?

6.  Our other programs such as the Beginner or Enhanced programs have extra drives  It is possible to do only 5 drives if you feel your student has more advanced skills.

How do we get observation time if my student drives solo?

Students are allowed to get observation time with their parents.  After you sign up you will be give a 6 Hour Obbservation log sheet.  It is designed to increase the scanning ability.  The student will be actively looking for potential problems and writing them down.  The 6 Hour Observation log sheet will be turned in by the last drive. 

How long are the drives?

1 hr & 45 minutes - 2 hours.  2.5 - 4 hours if they have a partner.  When scheduling we will make a solo schedule and partner schedule.  Please keep in mind the goal is to partner-up your student to get the most out of the driver training course.  

What are the days and times my student can drive?

Please check for openings on the website...

        What is the Enhanced Course?

The Enhanced Course is 11 hours of driver training.  With 4 additional hours students will drive in more environments, have more time to fine-tune their skill before driving with parents, and have more opportunity to make defensive driving a habit.  We will also be able to discuss more driving laws and other important information.  Also the 4 hours will be applied to the 50 hour requirement for the Graduated Driver License Program (supervised driving period).  This is the best deal in all driver education.  11 hours of advanced driver training for $415.

  • Hill/Mountain Driving (Cartwright Road, Dry Creek Road, Hwy 55)

  • Additional Highway Driving w/ merging(To Simco Rd).  Cruise Control is also taught.

  • Drive-Thru coffee shop of students choice (they need to bring money and let the instructor know in advance, we'll start driving a 5 minutes earlier)

  • These additional routes might let us pass other cars on 2 lane roads such as Hwy 55.  Passing is rarely ever taught in driver education because most routes don't give the opportunity.

  • Parallel Parking & Backing-up Parking

  • Actual real world driving in an unmarked driver education car.  No matter how hard we strive to make driving as real as possible there still remains the "Driver Training" advertising on the car.  "Driver Training" signs scare usually about 30% of drivers who keep their distance from us - this is not real.  The last drive in the Enhanced Course is in a vehicle that looks like any other vehicle. This gives the student an actual real world driving experience.  There is still a passenger brake and passenger mirrors for safety.  [This is allowed by law because the driving, observation, and classroom requirements will have been met]

  • Allows more practice doing the basics such as speed control, lane changes, turns, and covering the break (very important because you won't have a passenger brake in your own vehicle).  

   

 

​​Can I pay in advance to reserve a spot?  

Yes.  Please click here for more info.  Scheduling Info

     

What is the process after the 6 months supervised driving is complete?

When the 6 months is complete you will go to the DMV to take the written knowledge test.  If you lost the original DMV receipt please have them print another one.  Make sure the $6.50 state skills test fee is paid.  When the test is passed you will call up a "skills tester".  They are listed by region on the DMV website.  For the skills test you will need the DMV receipt and the UltraSafe Certificate of Completion (to show completion date).  

How do we get started?

Click the button below...

Why should I take drivers education?  Why not wait till I'm 17 and just take the test?

Studies show those who take driver education will get into less accidents and keep insurance costs lower.  Many accidents occur when uneducated drivers simply don't know the rules of the road.  Working in a high school I speak with students about the accidents they get into...I would say 50% are from lack of discipline in following the rules, 30% are from knowing the rules but NOT knowing any defensive drives techniques, and 20% are from simply not knowing the rules of the road.