In Idaho if you are under 18 you must be enrolled in a school to take driver education. Students who are 17 do not have to take driver education. Students must be at least 14 1/2 to enroll in a driving school. UltraSafe requires you to be 15.
Driver education consists of 30 hrs of classroom instruction, 6 hours of behind-the-wheel training, and 6 hours of observation in a driver education vehicle. Public drivers education (school district driver education) and some private companies use a physical classroom. UltraSafe uses Idaho Online Driver Education (IODE).
The first step is to get a VOC from your student's school. The secretary should know what your asking for (your student can also get this). You will need this for the DMV.
After you get the VOC, you will take it and other important documents to the DMV. (please see How to Get Signed Up for more info). For UltraSafe you will tell them Ultra Safe Advanced Driver Training when asked which school you will use. After you have gone to the DMV you can start your drivers training.
After driver education the student must then complete a 50 hour/6 month graduated driving license program (unless they turn 17 during that time). This is also known as the supervised driving period. Students must complete 50 hours of driving (10 at night), in no less than 6 months (required). During this time they essentially keep practicing with strict rules that must be adhered to or the supervised driving period will start over and you will receive a $150 fine.
When the supervised driving period is complete (or you've turned 17) you will set up an appointment to take the driving test with a skills tester (phone numbers are on the dmv website). The skills tester is a separate individual who will ride along in your car telling you what to do for about 25-30 minutes. Parallel parking is not on the test.
After this, you must go to the DMV to take the written test. You may do this at any time. When the driving test and written test are passed - congratulations you will receive your official drivers license.